Spring Municipal Elections Set For April 2nd, 2019 - The Independent-Journal: Local News

Spring Municipal Elections Set For April 2nd, 2019

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, January 24, 2019 10:39 am

The Washington County Election Authority has received certifications for the Spring 2019 Election.

In County-wide elections there were two seats open for the Health Department and one for the Hospital.

The Washington County Health Department had three filings for two open Board seats for four year terms. Filing for election were Yvonne Emily, Eddie Strauser and Paulette Long.

The Washington County Memorial Hospital had one position open for a five year term. The only filing was Jim Politte who filed for re-election as he currently serves on the Board. The Hospital will not have to have an election with just the single candidate.

The Washington County Ambulance District has two seats open; one for District #1 and one for District #4, both are three year terms. Becky Johnston filed for re-election in District #1 and Teresa Richards and Bob Hahn filed for the District #4 seat.

Potosi Fire Protection District has an opening for one seat for a six year term. Lesa Hawkins, Craig Rasnic and Travis Wood all have filed.

In municipal elections, the Village of Caledonia has three positions open on the Village Board. The Village had four candidates file; they include John Lucas, Debra (Dickey) Bay, Pat Sims and Penny Province.

The City of Irondale has filing for Mayor and for three Aldermen, 2 for 2 year terms and 1 for an unexpired term. Filings for Irondale included Doris Keim for Mayor; Tony Pulliam and Frederick Williams for 2 year term Aldermen; and Courtney Davis for the unexpired term.

The City of Potosi had openings for Aldermen in Ward I and Ward II. City Collector/Clerk Roger P. Coleman reported that on opening filing day, Dec. 11th, Wayne Malugen filed for re-election to Ward II and candidate Kelly Eye also filed for Ward II. Before filing deadline, Mark S. “Bullet” Walton also filed for the Ward II Alderman seat. On Monday, Dec. 17th Mary Pat West filed for re-election in Ward I with Ed Blair also filing on the same day for the Ward I seat.

The Village of Mineral Point had two positions open on the Board of Trustees. John Taylor and Sharon Glore both filed for the seats.

Only one water supply districts have elections in April.

Washington County Water Supply District #1(Springtown) had seats for 1, 2, 4 and 5 sub-districts. The terms vary from three years for #1 to two year unexpired terms for #2 and #4, and a one year for #5. Four filings were taken with five open seats, so no election is needed.

Washington County Water Supply District #2 (Belgrade) had open seats in sub-districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5. No election necessary as seats will be appointed with no filings taken.

Water Supply District #4 (Holiday Shores) also had seats open in sub-districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5. Sub-district 2 will have an election with Jesse Ogden and Joe Brown both filing.

In school districts, Kingston K-14 had two positions available that are 3 year terms. Kingston had Katie Pyatt, Lacy Nichelson and Tonya Gerullis all file for two seats for three years each.

Potosi R-3 Schools had two seats for election with three year terms. The R-3 incumbents filed for re-election, Rhonda Phares and Jim Robart. The R-3 School District will also have a Bond Election on the April ballot.

Richwoods R-7 had two board positions open that are three years each and one position with a one year unexpired term. Jim Vandivort filed for the unexpired term, Michelle Emily and Ted Barrett filed for the open board positions.

Valley R-6 has two seats for the Board that are three years each. The three candidates who filed for election were Pat Masson, Tess Weeks and Brent McClain.

West County R-IV School has two seats open on the board with four filings. Rick Lawson, Lynn Frago, Cleda Momot and Shawn Meinershagen filed for the election. The will also have a bond election on the ballot.

Crawford CR-1 had three file for 2 seats and 1 seat for an unexpired term. John Craig, Tim Davis and Martin De La Torre filed for the three year term seats. On the unexpired, Darrel Bosse and Sean Kaysinger both filed.

Sullivan school district has 2 three year terms up with three filing - Randy Stack, Robby Berti and Clifton Dudley.

Mineral Area College had three sub-district seats open, one with a four year term and two with six year terms. After filing closed, the number of candidates did not require a ballot election for the college.

Filing closed on Tuesday, January 15th for the Spring Elections.

© 2019 The Independent-Journal. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Most Popular