November 04, 2022

NO EXCUSE VOTING –– The Washington County Courthouse will open Saturday, Nov. 5th from 8 a.m. to Noon for early voting. The 2022 General Election is to be held on Tuesday, November 8, 2022 all across Missouri. Voters may go to the Polls from 6 a.m. until 7 p.m. on that date to express their desires for who is to fill the various political offices which will appear on the ballot.

Washington County votes will be tallied in thirteen Precincts and for the Absentees.

At the Federal Level votes will be cast for U.S. Senator and 3rd District U.S. Representative. Statewide voting will be for State Auditor.

On a more localized level there is a contest for the 118th District State Representative and in County voting for Prosecuting Attorney.

Positions of Associate Circuit Judge, Presiding Commissioner, County Clerk, Circuit Clerk, Recorder of Deeds, County Treasurer and County Collector are all unopposed. 144th Dist. Rep. Chris Dinkins is also unopposed.

A look at the ballot (see elsewhere in this issue) shows: (Listed are contested races only!)

FOR STATE AUDITOR- Republican Scott Fitzpatrick challenged by Democrat Alan Green and Libertarian John A. Hartwig Jr..

FOR U.S. REPRESENTATIVE- 3rd District: Republican Blaine Luetkemeyer is seeking re-election, challenged by Democrat Bethany Mann.

FOR STATE REP. 118TH DISTRICT- Republican incumbent Mike McGirl seeks a third term challenged by Democrat Sally Brooks.

FOR PROSECUTING ATTORNEY- Democrat Josh Hedgecorth is seeking re-election for a third term, challenged by John Jones IV, Republican.

Unopposed candidates include: For Associate Circuit, Tony Dorsett, Republican; Presiding Commissioner, David Sansegraw for a second term; Circuit Clerk Ashley Gum, Republican; County Clerk Republican Jenny Allen seeking a fourth term; Republican Recorder of Deeds Jamie Miner for a second term and Republicans John Robinson for Treasurer and Kris Richards for Collector are both new to County public office.

Also on the Tuesday, November 8th General Election Ballot will be three Constitutional Amendments brought by the General Assembly, an Amendment by Initiative Petition, the Judicial Ballot seeking input on retention of six Judges and the Constitutional Convention question submitted by Secretary of State Ashcroft.

Amendment 1- Allow the General Assembly to override the current constitutional restrictions of state investments by the state treasurer; and, allow state investments in municipal securities possessing one of the top five highest long term ratings or the highest short term rating.

Amendment 3- Remove state prohibitions on purchasing, possessing, consuming, using, delivering, manufacturing, and selling marijuana for personal use for adults over the age of twenty one; require a registration card for personal cultivation with prescribed limits; establish a lottery selection process to award licenses and certificates; issue equally distributed licenses to each congressional district; and impose a six percent tax on the retail price of marijuana to benefit various programs.

Amendment 4: Authorize laws, passed before Dec. 31, ‘26, that increase funding for a police force established by a state board of police commissioners to ensure such police force has additional resources to serve its communities.

Amendment 5: Shall the Missouri National Guard currently under the Missouri Department of Public Safety be its own department, known as the Missouri Department of the National Guard, which shall be required to protect the constitutional rights and civil liberties of Missouri.

Constitutional Convention: Shall there be a convention to revise and amend the Constitution.

Judges- Mo. Supreme Court: Zel M. Fischer and Robin Ransom; Eastern Court of Appeals: Kelly C. Broniec, Thomas C. Clark, Michael E. Gardner and John P. Torbitzky.

Absentee voting is now open for all registered voters and continues until Monday, Nov. 7th, 2022.

Take the time to vote and express your opinion in 2022.